History and scope

About OTST 2017

The 7th international Conference on Optical Terahertz Science and Technology (OTST 2017) will bring researchers from around the world to present and discuss their most recent advances in terahertz (THz) research, ranging from fundamental science discoveries to cutting-edge developments in THz technology.

Major research areas covered at the conference include:

THz spectroscopy applications in Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Medicine
THz imaging
THz near-field microscopy
Ultrafast dynamics and Time-resolved spectroscopy
Ultrafast measurement techniques
THz sources and detectors
Advances in THz quantum cascade lasers
Nanoscale THz devices
THz communications
THz industrial applications
Novel THz devices, instruments and techniques
THz waveguides
THz metamaterials and plasmonic devices

For the first time the Conference will be held in Europe, on the campus of University College London, following the previous six conferences held in USA and Japan:

2015: San Diego, CA, USA
Chairs: Richard Averitt and Dimitri Basov

2013: Kyoto, Japan
Chairs: Koichiro Tanaka and Masayoshi Tonouchi

2011: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Chairs: Ajay Nahata and Charles Schmuttenmaer

2009: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Chairs: Andrea Markelz and Frank Hegmann

2007: Orlando, FL, USA
Chairs: Peter Uhd Jepsen and Gwyn Williams

2005: Orlando, FL, USA 
Chairs: Daniel Mittleman and Mark Allen

OTST 2017 continues the tradition of providing an international forum for discussing advances at the forefront of THz research in collegial atmosphere. For students and those who are new to the field, an introductory workshop with tutorials taught by world-known experts in the field of THz Science and Technology will be organised on the first day of the Conference (Apr. 2, 2017).

For more information about Optical Terahertz Science and Technology conference series follow the link: http://www.otst.org

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: EXTENDED
    12 December 2016
  • Early registration deadline:
    3 February 2017
  • Registration deadline:
    24 March 2017

Silver sponsors